PLAI-WVRLC 2016 Regional Seminar

Last October 21, 2016, the PLAI-WVRLC conducted its annual Regional Conference and Assembly at the West Visayas State University in Iloilo City. This year’s topic was “CPD, Accreditation, and Research: Roles, Challenges and Opportunities Faced by Western Visayas Librarians.”

The objectives of this conference are: to update librarians in Western Visayas about the RA 10912 (Continuing Professional Development Act of 2016); share and discuss experiences and best practices in complying with library accreditation; share recent research studies in the region; elect a new set of PLAI-WVRLC officers; and celebrate National Book Week.

Research studies were presented and a panel discussion was conducted on librarians’ experiences in accreditation and complying with the requirements of the different accrediting institutions such as CHED.Undergraduate research papers were also presented, on the topics of: Faculty Perceptions of Librarians' Faculty Status (University of San Agustin) and Factors affecting choice of Research Topic among CPU Education students (CPU). There was also a lecture on developing modern library facilities for millennial learners.

The Conference’s highlight was Ms. Eimee Lagrama’s presentation on CPD (RA 10912 - Continuing Professional Development Act) for librarians. This is a new, important law on professional growth and continuing education that librarians must know. Among the subjects discussed are the provisions of CPD Act of 2016 and the PRC amended guidelines such as the required CPD units, prescribed forms and required documents. This will help librarians select from various CPD activities and programs to participate in, and earn CPD credit units and comply with the CPD requirements.

A new set of PLAI WVRLC Board of Trustees and Officers were voted and selected by the council. The new officers are as follows: Christian George Acevedo (President), Ana Mae Cantel (Vice President), Ma. Cynthia PeleƱa (Secretary), Nora Rose (Treasurer), and Edmar Labrador (Auditor).

The selected Board Members are Stephen Alayon and Regina Maligad, with Elisa V. Garcia serving as Ex-Officio. Provincial representatives were also elected: Juen Magdael (Aklan), Grace Magullado (Antique), Martin Floro (Capiz), Kristine Gonzales (Guimaras), Rhea Valguna (Negros Occidental), and Allana Delgado (Iloilo).

Post a Comment